Preserving the past and the future
This listing is closed.


Antikvariska Bokhandeln

Kimmo Välkesalmi

Ken Whyld Association

Kasparov: My Great Predecessors. Part I-V
Listing # 11180
Bidder or Seller? Sign in for your status.
Listing Format: Auction
Current price : €110,00
Starting bid: €5,00
# of bids: 31
Closes: Auction is closed
Location: Sweden
Started: 2018-06-01 01:00:00
Ended: 2018-06-10 19:02:51
Seller: LSAK (2263)  
High Bidder(s): Morten (30)
 Ask the listing owner a question
 Mail this listing to a friend!
Watch this item!

Kasparov: My Great Predecessors. Part I-V.

My Great Predecessors is a series of chess books written by former World Champion Garry Kasparov. The five volumes in the My Great Predecessors series are about the players who preceded Kasparov in being official World Champions. The books contain historical details, but for the most part the books are made up of annotated games.
Chess journalist Dmitry Plisetsky helped with the books and Kasparov thanks some other chess players in the prefaces of each of the volumes. The books were translated into English by Ken Neat. Each volume has an index of players of the games and an index of chess openings used in the games. They were published in 9.9" by 7.2" (25 cm by 18 cm) hardback by Everyman Chess starting in 2003. 

My Great Predecessors comprises five volumes:
Part I starts with a chapter about some of the unofficial world champions (before 1886), though much of the commentary focuses on Adolf Anderssen and Paul Morphy. It then covers the first four official world champions: Wilhelm Steinitz, Emanuel Lasker, José Raúl Capablanca, and Alexander Alekhine.

Part II covers the fifth through eighth world champions: Max Euwe, Mikhail Botvinnik, Vasily Smyslov, and Mikhail Tal. Euwe briefly interrupted the reign of Alekhine, while Smyslov's and Tal's respective interruptions to Botvinnik's long reign were similarly brief.

Part III covers the ninth and tenth champions, Tigran Petrosian and Boris Spassky. Petrosian ended Botvinnik's reign in 1963. Spassky challenged Petrosian unsuccessfully in 1966, but defeated him in their 1969 rematch.

Part IV starts by covering some strong Western players who were not world champions: Samuel Reshevsky, Miguel Najdorf, and Bent Larsen. The primary focus of this volume is the eleventh World Champion Bobby Fischer.

Part V covers World Championship contender Victor Korchnoi and the twelfth World Champion Anatoly Karpov. Korchnoi and Karpov played three matches in the World Championship, in 1974, 1978, and 1981. The first match was in the Candidates Tournament to determine who would challenge Fischer in 1975. Fischer refused to defend his title, making the 1974 Karpov versus Korchnoi match a de facto World Championship match.

Everyman Publishers, London, hardback with dustjackets. Condition VG. Be aware of the weight: ca. 6 kg. 

Condition: VG, like new.

Seller (73)

Seller accepts PayPal payments
Payment Details: Banktransfer or Paypal + 5%
Bidding is closed for this item.
QUESTIONS/ANSWERS   -     Ask the listing owner a question
This item has been viewed times.
Copyright © 2019 LSAK chess book auctions. All Rights Reserved. No part of this web page may be reproduced in any way, or by any means, without the prior written permission of LSAK chess book auctions.

Powered By RainWorx Software