Preserving the past and the future
This listing is closed.

Antikvariska Bokhandeln

Kimmo Välkesalmi


Brekke & Ólafsson: The Chess Saga of Fridrik Ólafsson
Listing # 37340
Bidder or Seller? Sign in for your status.
Listing Format: Auction
Current price : €38,00
Starting bid: €5,00
# of bids: 13
Closes: Auction is closed
Location: Sweden
Started: 2023-03-01 01:00:00
Ended: 2023-03-10 20:13:18
Seller: LSAK (4718)  
High Bidder(s): Appleby (338)
 Ask the listing owner a question
 Mail this listing to a friend!
Watch this item!

Øystein Brekke & Fridrik Ólafsson: The Chess Saga of Fridrik Ólafsson. 

Chess grandmaster Fridrik Ólafsson was the World championship candidate who became a national hero at home in Iceland and later President of the World Chess Federation, FIDE. This book follows his career with 114 games plus 4 game finishes, most of them played against leading grandmasters of several grandmasters, from the legendary Savielly Tartakower in 1954 to David Navara in 2013. Among his victims in the book are World Champions Tal, Petrosian, Fischer and Karpov, and other top players of the era like Keres, Geller, Korchnoi, Taimanov, Averbakh, Stein, Najdorf, Panno, Larsen, Gligoric, Uhlmann, Benkö, Portisch, Szabo, O'Kelly, Donner and Unzicker, and also somewhat younger players like Hübner, Tukmakov, Savon, Kavalek, Smejkal, Ribli, Sax, Quinteros, Andersson, Timman, Browne, Miles and Seirawan.

The platform of the book is Fridrik's own Icelandic games collection from 1976 "Vid skákbordid i aldarfjördung - 50 valdar sóknar skákir" (At the chess board for a quarter of century - 50 selected chess games).

Another appropriate name to that book might have been "50 Attacking Games". There are many lessons to be learnt here about both how to build an attack and how to carry it out.

The career of the famous Icelandic grandmaster is described through 10 chapters and 70 years, starting from his first tournament in 1946 and up to his last championship participation in 2016. 52 of the games are presented and annotated by Fridrik Ólafsson himself. Game commentaries from grandmasters Tiger Hillarp Persson, Axel Smith, Ian Rogers, Yasser Seirawan, Margeir Pétursson, Jóhann Hjartarson and Jan Timman. The book has 115 photos, quite many of them not published before.

Two of the games in the book are wins against Tal (one of them very brilliant), two wins against Fischer, two against Petrosian and one against Karpov. That was in Buenos Aires 1980 when it happened that the FIDE President beat the reigning World champion.

288 pages hardcover, 21 x 21 cm. Norsk Sjakkforlag, Drammen 2021. ISBN 978-82-90779-28-8

Condition: Brand new. Weigt 914 g.

Seller (291)

Seller accepts PayPal payments
Payment Details: Banktransfer or Paypal + 5%
Bidding is closed for this item.
QUESTIONS/ANSWERS   -     Ask the listing owner a question
This item has been viewed times.
Copyright © 2023 LSAK chess book auctions. All Rights Reserved. No part of this web page may be reproduced in any way, or by any means, without the prior written permission of LSAK chess book auctions.

Powered By RainWorx Software